International Wine Challenge 2012 – the top trophies


(For full results, go to the main International Wine Challenge site here)

Champion Red Wine: Charmes Chambertin Les Mazoyères Grand Cru 2010, Domaine de la Vougeraie

Champion White Wine: Vineyard Select Clare Valley Riesling 2006, Angove Family Winemakers

Daniel Thibault Trophy for Champion Sparkling: Champagne Piper Heidsieck Rare Millésime 1998, Champagne Piper Heidsieck

Champion Fortified Wine: Harveys Fine Old Amontillado 30 Year Old VORS, Harveys, Jerez

Alois Kracher Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine: Royal Tokaji 6 Puttonyos 2007, Royal Tokaji Borászati Zrt

Sake Champion: Daiginjo Fukukomachi 2012, National Trading Inc Kimura Brewery

Great Value Champion Sparkling: Codorníu Rosado Brut NV, Codorníu

Great Value Champion Fortified Wine: Manzanilla Pasada Pastrana, Bodegas Hidalgo – La Gitana

Innovator of the Year: Marks & Spencer

James Rogers Trophy for best wine in the first year of production: Marks & Spencer Single Block Series S1 Sauvignon Blanc 2011, Yealands Estate

Large Independent Merchant of the Year: Cambridge Wine Merchants

Small Independent Merchant of the Year: Bottle Apostle

Wine Club of the Year: The Wine Society

Sparkling Winemaker of the Year: Régis Camus, Champagnes P & C Heidsieck

White Winemaker of the Year: Neil McGuigan,  McGuigan Wines

Red Winemaker of the Year: Gérard Bertrand, Gérard Bertrand

Sweet Winemaker of the Year: Hans Tschida, Weingut Hans Tschida

Fortified Winemaker of the Year: Manuel Lozano, Emilio Lustau

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *