Drinking Outside The Box

With Simon Woods – wine for people who have a life

International Wine Challenge Trophies 2009 September 3, 2009 at 10:57 am

Published by - Comment


Since the good folk at William Reed haven’t managed to get their act together yet, here are the top trophies from the awards at last nights IWC dinner:

Merchants of the Year
Agent  – Seckford
Direct – Berry Bros & Rudd
Environmental Initiative – M&S
Corporate Social Responsibility – Cooperative Group
On Trade Supplier – Liberty Wines
Wine Club – Tesco
Wine Educator – Matthew Clark
Wine List – Matthew Clark
Small Independent – The Sampler
Large Independent – Wine Society
Innovator – Bordeaux Index
High St Chain – Majestic
Supermarket – M&S
Overall Prize – Berry Bros & Rudd

Great Value Awards
Rosé – Jaboulet Côtes Du Rhône Parallele 45 Rosé 2008
Sweet – M&S Scheurebe 2005, Weingut Darting, Pfalz
Fortified – Marks & Spencer Manzanilla
Sparkling – Sainsbury’s Blanc de Noirs Champagne
White – Tim Adams Riesling 2008, Clare Valley
Red – Pascual Toso 2008 Malbec

Planet Earth Awards
Sustainable Trophy – Guardian Peak Lapa Cabernet Sauvignon 2007
Organic Trophy – Domaine de la Vougeraie Clos de Vougeot 2006
Biodynamic Trophy – Loacker Corte Pavone Brunello di Montalcino Riserva 2003

Champion Awards
Sake – Kinmon Akita Shuzo Co Ltd Yamabuki 1995
Sweet – Weingut Horst Sauer Escherndorfer Lump Riesling Trockenbeerenauslese 2007
Fortified – Barbeito Verdelho Old Reserve 10 Year Old Madeira
Sparkling – Charles Heidsieck Blanc des Millénaires 1995
White – Château Labouré Roi Meursault Clos de la Baronne 2007
Red – Guardian Peak Lapa Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Winemaker Awards
Sweet – Alois Kracher (now RIP, but he made the wines that scored well in the 2009 IWC)
Fortified – Juan Fuentes/Manuel Lozano (Lustau)
Sparkling – Régis Camus (P & C Heidsieck)
White – Neil McGuigan (Australian Vintage)
Red – Jean-Philippe Trollet (Caves St Pierre)

Len Evans Trophy (for consistently good performance in the IWC) – Gonzalez Byass
James Rogers Trophy (best wine in its first vintage) – Weingut Felerjörgl Eiswein Welschriesling Höchleit´n 2007
Lifetime Achievement – Peter Lehmann
Personality of the Year – Oz Clarke & James May

Categorised in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *